Last week, I talked about how frustrated by the speed with which my current novel is progressing.  There was one aspect that I left out—on purpose, mind—and that was The Others.

You know The Others.  Those projects that distract you while you are trying to put your blood, sweat, toil, and tears into that thing in front you with all their shiny new-ness and bright ideas.  I hate those things.  Aww…who am I kidding?  I love them.  Without them, my life would be dull like sandstone.

So today, I’d like to share some of those with you.  There’s a reason for that madness.  This way I can get them out of my mind, and focus fresh on my current novel.  But then there’s also the thing that this way I can have a record of the ideas and can refer to it.  Because I’m not one for writing all this stuff down at home.

I’m a horrible author, I know.

But without further ado, here’s what I have planned.  In no particular order:


Thriller #3:  Right now, I’m working on my second thriller.  We all know this.  But my last novel was a thriller also.  And while it isn’t terribly obvious right now, they are connected.  What Thriller #3 does is return to the original characters in Thriller #2.  There’s an idea in there about the main baddie going back to the protagonist for help.  There’s other things too, maybe make the connection between Thrillers #1-3 stronger.  Dunno.

Thriller #4: Yeah.  That can boil down to one, singular idea.  If Character 1 and Character 2 are related, wait until you meet Character 3, the Older Sister.

A New Stephanie Hawthorne:  I’ve started this novel off and on for several years now.  In some ways, it’s a trick coming back to this world.  Most of that comes from that there isn’t any direct connection between The Red Dress and the next novel.  I designed them that way, so you can start anywhere and, for the most part, be satisfied.  But that doesn’t give you a leg up on the next novel.  I’ve thrown out a few ideas, revamped others.  The only staple is that you will get to meet Stephanie’s mother.  Takes the term “Bitch” to a brand new level.  Still, with the reactions I’ve gotten from The Red Dress, I’ll be back to Stephanie and Daniel.

The Epic Fantasy:  It’s no surprise that I’m a big sci-fi and fantasy fan.  In fact, most of what I read are those two genres.  The problem is that I have a VERY hard time writing fantasy, and sci-fi is a no-go (mostly because all my ideas are rehashes, and I want to avoid that).  But I do want to write an epic fantasy.  I even have a few ideas of how it would open, major plot points, the twists.  I’ve been thinking on this since I was probably fourteen, since I first fell in love with Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time.  So think that kind of epic size and scope.  When I get to it, I’ll get to it.  And it’ll be filled with different cultures, magic, gunpowder, and a scope of grand history lost to the ages.  Or that’s what I have in mind.

The Serious One:  This one’s a bit harder to describe.  During my last round of therapy sessions, I discussed my writing and goals with my therapist.  She made a comment that stuck with me, saying that I communicate very well—beyond my age and sex (She said that men have a harder time opening up then women. No idea if that’s true.).  Other things as well, including saying that she thinks I might have something to say that needs to be heard.  It stuck with me, and since then, I’ve been planning on something out of my realm.  Not fantasy.  Not sci-fi.  Not a thriller or a mystery or a romance.  But something that should speak to all of us.  Basic ideas for it have gone through several incarnations, but I think I’ve settled on an idea that should work, involving a cross-country trip, loss and grief, and redemption in a way.  It resonates strongly with me, at least.  And she was right, I do have something to say.  Something about the state of the country.  About lost souls.  About relationships.

I think I’ll end up crying several times while I’m writing it.


So yeah, that’s about it.  I can’t think of much else that I want to write right now.  But you all know how ideas are.  They come and they go.  It’s all at their own wills and whims.  I’m used to it by now.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to start on another one of these by the end of the year.  We’ll see.  And I hope that the ideas make sense to you, as I write things in my own disjointed style.  My mind works in bits and starts, tracking between what’s in front of me and what’s going on everywhere else.  ADHD at its finest.

Do any of these ideas sound interesting to you?  Which would you like to see written next?

One thought on “Those Other Ideas

Leave a Reply

