I am sure that all the writers out there can agree with this: We all have story lines we’d like to explore, stories we’d like to tell.  There are several that I would like to work on myself.  Ideas of mine which I believe would make an interesting tale.  But you see, there’s a problem.

Please let me know if I am the only one who seems to have this issue.  Over the last few years, I’ve written two novels; one mystery, one thriller.  Yet most of the ideas that I have in my head are fantasy in nature.  That’s what I read for pleasure, so I naturally turn to the extraordinary.  Tales that baffle the mind and explore our imagination.  So with my two big story plots, I have the world built in my head: the main protagonists, the societies, almost everything.  So why haven’t I written it yet?

That’s a good question.

It’s not like I haven’t tried.  In fact, I’ve tried several times.  We all know I can write, so that isn’t the problem.  And it isn’t the length or anything of the like.  Novels have already been written.  So what is it?  What is holding me back?  Everything seems to be there, but it’s a no go.

I don’t get it.  And I don’t know of anyone else who has that same issue.  Granted, I’m not well versed in every writer out there, but none that I have seen or read about says “I can write horror, but I can’t write a lick of Romance to save my soul.”  In fact, it seems the more I look around, the more people I see who can write in several genres.

Maybe it is a form of writer’s block.  I don’t think so, but it wouldn’t be the first time I’ve been wrong.  And since writer’s block takes so many different forms, it’s hard to pin down.  I mean, I don’t have any problem figuring out the next step or where the story needs to go or what the characters are doing.  I know all that stuff.  But somehow the story always falls apart on me.

I do have a theory though.  During the panel I attended in Cincinnati, the authors were asked about reading inside the genres that they write.  Their answer was that they didn’t do enough of it, and the reason they cited was that if they spent all day writing fantasy, the last thing they wanted to do on their spare time was to read fantasy.  Equate it to working at a pizza shop for days upon days, years upon years, then the last thing you want to do is eat pizza.  Now, some of you may disagree with that, but I can see the logic of their viewpoint.

Really though, I have no idea what’s going on in my mind.  And I honestly believe that is where the true trouble lies.  It isn’t with the stories or the characters, just these silly little blocks in my mind.  I accept that.  More often than not, it’s upsetting and frustrating, and it will always be until I figure out how to “fix” my problem.  So until then, I will keep plugging along, writing something, just not fantasy.

 

Leave a Reply

