The time has come.  I need to do something about this.  This conundrum is starting to become a thorn in my side, especially when K starts talking to me about it.  And she has every right to.  Maybe that’s one of the reasons that it’s driving me insane, though I doubt that it is the only one.  But what’s the issue?

Kristen’s Thriller.

Not the story itself, though it’s more of suspense novel than a thriller, but rather the title.  Kristen’s Thriller is a great working title.  Working titles mean very little in the long run and the only reason I named this one at all was because K asked me to write the story for her.  Most of the time, I don’t actually name any of my work until it’s completed.  In my screwed up little mind, a title should reflect the content of the story, but how can I know the content before the story’s finished?

I think naming the novel Kristen’s Thriller has screwed me over in a way.  The time needed for a title to brew has come and gone.  But everything’s been shunted aside thanks to the Work-in-Progress title.  That’s what I think of the novel as, but dammit, I cannot go on calling it Kristen’s Thriller.

Granted, it is glorious that I named something after my wife, but shall I start listing the problems with that title?  No?  Then let me tell you just one.

There is not a single Kristen in the entire book.

No character.  No item.  No plot device.  Not one single mention of a word that starts with a “kr” and ends with an “en”.  There isn’t even a variation on the spelling of Kristen.  No Kristin, Kathy, Kristy, or Kat.  Nothing about a Kristyn, Katrina, Kris, or Kristina.  Not one word.  So, if in my tiny head, the title should reflect the book, how in the world can I call it Kristen’s Thriller without a Kristen?

There’s the new title:  Kristen’s Thriller minus the Kristen.

Pfui.  I think that will work as well as using bricks for a parachute.  So I’ve got to come up with some new name, but everything I’m thinking of is rather dull and doesn’t give the scope of what’s going on.  Originally, I wanted something to do with sleep in the title, thanks to the backstory, but have since canned that idea thanks to some conversation with K.  Sleep no more; I can’t believe I thought that was a decent idea back in the day.  Ugh.

So my next big step with this thing is to come up with a name that sticks in your head but will also fit the book.  Maybe something will pop up when I start going through it with a fine tooth comb.  The novel needs to be edited yet.  Who knows?  An idea may appear out of nowhere and be the perfect fit.

That would make my day.

One thought on “What’s In A Name?

Leave a Reply

