Lately, I’ve been asking myself one particular question.  Do I care how I get my novel out into the world?  I mean, I want people to read it.  For me, I believe that no novel is complete without an audience.  So it needs to reach all of your hot little hands.  At least, I assume that there are a few people out there who would like to read it. My mother does.

Does she count?

Anyways, faced with all the decision and work that lies in front of me, I’ve been tempted to follow the worst advice ever! (I heard that in an epic sounding voice.)  What is that, you ask?  One of my favorite authors—John Scalzi—ended up getting his book published just by having someone in the know read it on his blog.  Not just excerpts, but the entire novel from what I understand.

But even he says that this was blind luck and don’t try that method yourself, but I’m kinda tempted.  I will admit, mostly this comes from the idea that I am crazy lazy right now and I don’t want to go through all the headaches from publishing my novel.

So, as I said, lazy.

But then there’s the other side of the coin.  The financial side.  We all know about how much it costs to provide a solid copy for people to read.  It isn’t cheap.  And while I want people to read The Red Dress, I also want to make a living as a writer.  Which means selling my work rather than giving it away for free.

That puts me back to where I started.  And if I’m being honest, I’m really ok with that.  This whole thing shouldn’t be something that I fall into and make simple decisions without thinking about the consequences.  I always consider those (maybe too much), but I won’t knock it either.  They are important.

Between you, me, and the millions of people who can read this, I will probably still go for the traditional self-published method.  There are too many downsides for me just to put it on the blog and pray that some publisher reads it and wants to publish my writing.

But that isn’t to say that I won’t do something like that in the future.  The thing is that I have a few ideas that I am working on that I might be willing just to post and share.  Kinda like the idea of doing a serial novel.  I even have the beginning of one started in my head.  Just needs to be started.  And finished.

But then again, but then again, finishing is a whole different blog post.


On a related topic, the irst exceprt from The Red Dress is coming soon.  Keep an eye out!

5 thoughts on “Publish or Not?

  1. I know how you feel. Next year, I’m debating on what to do with one of my novels. Right now, the first draft is posted on WordPress but once it’s edited and finalized, I don’t know if I should self-publish it or submit it to agents. You’ll figure it out, it just takes time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

