Here’s the thing:

I have to admit, I’m of two minds in posting excerpt from my current work in progress. Not that this is a simple cut and dry matter. There is no way it can be.

On one hand, I’m nervous about how well it will go over and that I’m posting what is essentially the first and roughest of drafts of a novel that I’m looking at publishing when all is said and done.

While on the other side of the coin, all of your support has meant so much to me. Without it, would I have gotten this far? I’m not sure. Things have been effecting my life so much that without you, I don’t think I’ve have passed chapter 3.

But here I am, working on chapter 7 and roughly 20,000 words into it. In layman’s terms, I’m about 25% to my final draft goal (my rough draft goal is about 10,000 words more). It has been a long time since I’ve been so successful writing; doubly so, if you consider all the mental and work issues I’ve been dealing with over the past year.  There’s been a lot to stop me. So am I glad to be where I’m at? I’m ecstatic.

Yet this doesn’t help when I consider actually posting these excerpts.  Now, I know that it is an established practice to post bits and pieces of novels or stories authors are well on their way to publishing.  We’ve all seen it, and we’ve all enjoyed it. It drums up interest and support for the up and coming project,  and who doesn’t like that idea? In short, it’s a good thing.

But here’s what I see as a critical difference.  Those nuggets they are dropping is the actual finished product.  What I’m putting out, sadly enough, is about as far away from finished as you can get. It doesn’t give you a real feel for my writing or my storytelling abilities.  I mean, granted, if this is my roughest of drafts and people are loving it so, then that does speak well. Yet is that the face I want to put forward?

There’s a reason that we edit and rewrite.  It strengthens our abilities and lets the world see us at our best. I mean, do we watch the Super Bowl or the team warm ups and skip the game? I know which o do, because I want to see them perform to the best of their abilities.  And they, nor we, can unless we prepare.

Really,  that’s what rough drafts are. Preparation for what we want the world to see. And Kristen’s Thriller (Come on! What a name is that?!?!?) is anything but smooth. With each day and each new set of words, I find more concepts and plot points and characterizations that must be corrected in the next round.

Nor should that change.

So at the end of all this, I am still left with the question: Do I share or do I keep it for myself until I deem it ready for the world?

Maybe there isn’t a firm answer based on what I’ve told you.  But then there is one more factor which has to be taken into account.  More than once, I’ve said that I am trying to find representation for my writing.  In other words, I’m trying to get published the traditional route.  Will these posts, sharing my current work, hurt the chances of it being picked up?  I don’t know.

To be honest, I see both sides of the matter.  “The world has already seen the novel, so how can we make money if you’ve let the cow out of the barn.” or I can point to the positive reception its already garnered and claim that the complete, quality work would sell fantastic.

No matter what I decide, there will be a downside for someone somewhere.  That’s always the case regardless of our choices.  And I will have make a choice.  I know that.  But only the future knows which way the dice will fall.  Oh, I have an idea, but I won’t put money on it.

What are your opinions?  I’d love to hear your thoughts.  Post them in a comment below!

3 thoughts on “The Question of Sharing Works in Progress

  1. So tricky! For one thing, people really enjoy seeing a writer’s work unfold, especially when they get to connect with said writer on a personal level. Since you are looking for a publisher for this piece, maybe it would be best to save the story for publication so as not to cause any issues down the road. But you still want to make connections and find readers to enjoy your work, so write something else, or talk about the research and details that go into writing your story. Write about struggles and successes with writing scenes or learning new bits about real life counterparts to your story. You can give the story and a sense of who you are, a real connection, without telling the actual story until you’re ready. Audience building, whether you are traditionally publishing or indie, is essential to your authorly cause. 🙂

    It’s been way too long since we’ve chatted!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It does seem like forever doesn’t it? We will have to fix that.

      I see your point, and I agree on most parts. The trick will be getting me to share a process which, for me at least, is almost entirely internal.

      I’m sure that this isn’t the last time we’ve heard from Kristen’s Thriller. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

