The time has come.  I’ve been putting this off for (wwwwaaaaayyyyyy) too long and the time has come to bite the bullet.

God help me, but I have to write the blurb and synopsis for The Red Dress.

Can’t you tell that it isn’t my favorite thing in the world to do?  But then again, I haven’t heard of a single author or person who likes the idea of trimming down their several thousand word baby into a 500-word (or less) abomination that totally lacks any finesse presentation of their creative skill.  I’ve been putting this off longer than was sane.  Now with the proverbial clock ticking, I can’t procrastinate it any longer.

This is the bad fantastic news for all of you.  I’m going to post my successive attempts here on this blog.  And since I know that I won’t get it right the first time around, there will be many upon many attempts.  Any and all constructive feedback will be appreciated.  Sometimes I need to get out of my head, and when I’m there, I can’t think straight.  So your words, your input will make all the difference in the world.

So here it is—the blurb for The Red Dress:


When an old girlfriend is killed the same night she visits Daniel Atwell, he is thrust into a world of sex and political intrigue.  Uncovering a murderer is difficult under normal circumstances, but wrangling a jealous wife with a penchant for homemade sweaters and romance novels is no small matter.  Nor is her brother, the police inspector in charge of the case, who will spite Daniel just for a laugh.  Add in the distant widower, a disheartened son, and a congresswoman out for reelection, and Daniel has his hands full.  Now if only he wasn’t the dumbest person in the room.


 

There you go.  What do you think?  Any suggestions?  I have some thoughts, but I’d love to hear what you have to say.  Let me know in the comments below.

 

5 thoughts on “Book Blurb: Round 1

Leave a Reply

