So last week (by the time you read this), I had a small adventure.

Twice annually, my employer has an employee dinner in order to enlighten us to the state of the company and the management’s future plans.  This company is connected to a major university in many different ways.  Last week’s meeting was on that university’s campus.

It went fine and we had some pleasant surprises.  That wasn’t the adventure.  Since the meeting was on campus and our main location is just off campus, a group of us decided to walk to the meeting instead of driving.  Exercise and all that, plus it really is a beautiful campus.  The walk was fun and uneventful—besides getting lost twice—and we still made it on time, laughing the whole way.

Our adventure began on the way back.

First: it wasn’t that big of an adventure.  But we had fun, and that’s the whole point of adventures right?  Second: you need to know that it was dark.  As in sun had long set and we only had a few street lights to guide us.  Third: We didn’t follow the street lights.

The adventure started after we had returned to our cars following dinner.  It was there that I realized I’d lost my cell phone.  Imagine losing your phone, in the dark, on a strange campus.  On top of that, it’s a black phone in a black case.  It seemed like a forlorn hope, but we decided to retrace our steps as best as we could remember (We’d gotten lost twice on the way back as well).  On a whim, one of my coworkers calls my phone.  I didn’t have much hope there, since I keep my phone on silent.

But someone answered it.

It was a nice guy by the name of Nick (ironic right?).  He’d seen it on the ground and had taken it with him to a computer lab while he did some late night work.  I found out the next day that he’d also called my folks in Michigan, trying to return the phone.  Finally, we met up.  He had stayed put, but it took more than one set of directions for the three of us to find the computer lab.  But find it we did and I was reunited with my phone.  At which point, we thanked him and proceeded to explore the building.

We’d heard a lot about it from coworkers, but this was the first time any of us had seen it in person.  Three kids goofing off in a candy store is what we were, not three adults acting responsibly.  Who really cares though?  We may have garnered some strange looks, but that was all the harm we did.

We returned to our cars without further incident and we went our separate ways.  I can laugh about this now because it all ended well.  Had I lost my phone, this would be a whole different story.  But it didn’t, so we can all laugh and poke a bit of fun.  It’s all good.

What I really want to say is thank you (again) to Nick.  He didn’t need to do what he did.  In fact, it seems more and more that people won’t help out their neighbor.  I don’t have any illusion that this man was a saint.  But what’s important is that he did the right thing when it mattered.  It’s the small things that make you feel that the future of humanity has a chance.

So thank you again, sir!  Keep up the good work.

3 thoughts on “It’s the Small Things that Matter

Leave a Reply

