The other day, I was reading a post about content and what people like to see on blogs and all that stuff which I’d previously not been savvy to.  It was quite an interesting post and one that I’d recommend for anyone interested.  You can find it here.

But that’s not what I wanted to talk about.

In it, she says that we don’t write novels with titles like: The Virtuous Semicolon, The Sentence That Kept Running, and the such.  I didn’t disagree with her, and I still think she’s right.  But my only thought was—

CHALLENGE ACCEPTED!

This is, sadly enough, not one of my worst ideas.  There was the contraption of string, shoelaces, and duct tape I created when I was seven to shut my bedroom door from the comfort of my own bed (it fell apart at the first tug).  The day I tried pushing one car out of the snowbank with another (both got stuck).  Others come to mind.  None of them were my finest achievements.

But my mind has already started working on this concept.  Especially that Virtuous Semicolon.  I picture it flying between buildings, jumping clauses in a single bound, chasing the ne’er-do-wells Period and Comma.  There’s more, but I’m sure I should keep it to myself.  My mind lacks the pristine beauty of a National Park.  Sometimes that makes things more interesting, but more often than not, I end up confused and feeling sorry for the poor sod who had to listen to me.

How does everyone else’s minds react when they hear something like that?  Am I the only one?

14 thoughts on “The Wrong Challenge to Accept

  1. I have to admit to thinking innocent-sounding ponderings, which are mostly rhetorical and meant to stay in the pondering stage, come across as a challenge to me, too, as they usually seem to be offered in that type of spirit and the person putting the words into reality thinks everyone would agree with them, not realizing that there are those of us out here who do take it as a challenge, who even have to ask the question, “What if…?” and then craft a witty repose that probably no one else would think of, and then…

    I think I would consider taking the, uh, “challenge” to write the one called “The Sentence That Kept Running” and run with it. Pun intended. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Puns. The lowest form of humor, but poetry is verse.

      I grew up on puns. Love them as much as I hate them.

      The sentence that kept running also brings images to mind myself. But that I’ll leave to you. I think I have my hands full with that semicolon. The worse part about it (and it seems like you are much like me) is that those “what if” ideas come unbidden. You (kinda) want to stop them, but they have their own mind. Might as well embrace them.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Absolutely! I just wish I could get the same mileage from people who annoy me as I can from “what if…?” HEY- WHAT IF I just write some nasty death scenes for those humans, then bring them back as Zombies so I can do away with them repeatedly until I grow weary of them and lop off their heads…

        Liked by 1 person

      1. No, I’d read it because I’d be curious to know what would come out of such an odd and amusing title. 🙂 There’s too much sarcasm in a title like that to ignore it.
        And I’d read almost anything you wrote. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

