I’ve been recently working on re-evaluating several aspects of my blog. Comments and commenting and conversation is part of it. This is a lovely little post illustrating a simple concept that I sometimes miss.

I promise to do better from now on.

Lemon Shark

I haven’t replied to the comments on my last few posts. Egads! So I’m not allowed to post another one. I mean, it’s an unwritten rule, right? Wrong. It’s a written rule. You must reply. Also, there’s a written rule that says you don’t need to reply. There is disagreement in the blogosphere. And so it goes. I feel I’ve danced this dance before.

You simply must reply to comments on your blog because:

  1. It’s rude not to
  2. The whole point of a blog post is to generate conversation (i.e. comments) and you should keep that going
  3. If people take the time to comment, you should take the time to reply

These are all true. But so are these:

  1. Some people don’t care (or even notice) if you reply
  2. The whole point of a blog post is whatever the person who wrote it wants it to be – regardless of…

View original post 441 more words

5 thoughts on “Blog Comments — Why Do We Reply?

Leave a Reply

