I got tagged.

In case you were wondering, it doesn’t happen very often.  Unless we are talking back when I was in grade school and playing the actual game of tag.  Then it happened all the time.  I hated that game.  The fat kid doesn’t like to be it.

But I digress.  I was tagged by Rachael Ritchey in a blog hop focusing on the problems I face being a reader, a writer, full-time human, and a part-time adult.  Turns out, my answers are a bit different than hers.  Perhaps you agree with me—perhaps not—but either way, I’d love to hear everyone else’s views on this.  It’s quite interesting to see how each of us face similar problems.


Q: You have 20,000 books on your TBR (to be read). How in the world do you decide what to read next?

To be completely honest, I go downstairs and watch TV.  K (my wife) is always has something on, usually in the middle of one run or another of some television show.  If I can’t decide, I let my mind go numb for a bit.  By the time, it starts back up, I usually have an idea of what I’m interested in.

And if that fails, I just grab a book a go.  Hopefully I make it more than a few pages before I fall asleep.

It takes me a long time to read a book anymore.

Q: You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?

If I’m halfway through a book, then I’ve already committed.

There are too many things in this world to read and do to prolong things you just don’t enjoy.  That seems to hold doubly so with reading anything.  You’ve got three—maybe four—chapters tops to hook me.  By that time, I should see plot, characterization, or something that I find promising.  If I do, I continue.  If I don’t, then I move on.

However, this is just a rule of thumb.  It doesn’t always hold true.  I have pushed through a book I’ve hated for many different reasons, but generally, that’s how I feel.

Q: The end of the year is coming and you’re so close yet so far away on your GoodReads challenge. Do you quit or commit?

What’s GoodReads?

Q: The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?

It’s like pokemon.  GOT TO BUY THEM ALL!!!!  I do that with several series.  The covers must match.  Unless one is something special (1st edition, signed, etc), THEN I BUT TWO!!!!

Q: Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

Those people who only saw the movie and hated it.  You can find a kindred spirit somewhere.

Q: You’re reading a book and you’re about start crying in public. How do you deal?

Giant baby so…… Usually hide my tears in my wife’s shirt.

Q: A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a summary on GoodReads? Cry in frustration?

Re-read.  All of it.  It doesn’t matter how long the series is or how long it will take me.  This often includes me scheduling out time to finish that series over several months.  But when the latest book comes out….I take vacation time off from work, say goodbye to friends and family, and stock up on non-perishable foods and toilet paper.  You wont see me until it’s done.

Q: You don’t want ANYONE borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people “nope” when they ask?

I’m able to say “no”?  Why didn’t anyone tell me this?!?!?!?

Q: You’ve picked up and put down five different books in the past month. How do you get over the reading slump?

I have certain safety nets I fall back on when I’m in a slump.  Series I’ve read over and over again and can practically recite like some people can Star Wars or Monty Python and the Holy Grail.

Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time.

Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files.

Rex Stout’s Nero Wolfe mysteries.

And of course, Steven Brust’s Vlad Taltos.  Couldn’t live without Vlad and Loiosh.  When I’m sick of them, it’s time to try something new.

Q: There are so many new books coming out that you are dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

Are they in audiobook format?

This isn’t a joke.  During this post, I’m trying to use reading as in the specific physical act, but if you broaden it to accept such things as audiobooks, then my yearly reading quota jumps significantly.  I constantly have in my headphones and am listening to this novel or that.  Simply put, I’m more likely to buy something if it comes in an audio format.

But actually buying physical books?  That is much rarer, mostly because places like Barnes and Noble suck for finding book one of any series that isn’t Wheel of Time, Shannara, or Game of Thrones.  I don’t have the patience to wait for it to be delivered.  Most of the time, I’ll just see if there is an audio and go from there.  If I love it, then I might buy the physical books.

Q: After you’ve bought a new book you want to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf until you actually read them?

Depends on the book, why I bought it, and mostly if I’ve forgotten about it.  Some books wait years, but some take less than a month.  I think the shortest wait for a book that actually hit my bookshelf has ever lasted has been two days—Roger Zelazny’s Chronicles of Amber.

On the flip side, there are some book that are still waiting to be touched.

And then there are some that are still waiting because I’ve bought the audiobook.


What’s everyone else do?  Super curious.

Also, from what I understand, I’m to tag someone else in this.  Not that I have many people to tag.  Alas, most of my contact is through twitter and Rachael’s #BlogBattles.  I’ve met some great people there.  So BlondewritemoreDarren Scanlon, and Phoenix Grey…..

You’re up!

Leave a Reply

